Exzeo completes $12M share repurchase program with 834K shares
Second-quarter execution totaled 726.8K shares at ~$13.76 average; full program completed in July 2026.
What the filing says
Exzeo Group, Inc. completed a Board-authorized $12.0 million share repurchase program in July 2026, having repurchased a total of 834,250 shares of common stock. During the second quarter ended June 30, 2026, the company executed 726,828 shares for approximately $10.0 million, implying an average price of roughly $13.76 per share. The remaining repurchases were completed in July 2026 to fulfill the program's $12.0 million cap.
The repurchase activity is disclosed in the company's quarterly earnings release and reflected in the consolidated statements of cash flows, where share repurchases appear under financing activities. As of June 30, 2026, Exzeo's balance sheet showed 90,200,252 shares issued and outstanding, down from 90,926,720 shares at December 31, 2025, representing a net reduction of approximately 726,468 shares during the first half of 2026. The execution mechanism and any conditions related to the repurchase authorization are not specified in the filing beyond the dollar authorization amount.
During the second quarter, 726,828 shares of common stock were repurchased for approximately $10.0 million under a $12.0 million Share Repurchase Program. Following the completion of the program in July 2026, aggregate repurchases totaled 834,250 shares for approximately $12.0 million. — Exzeo Group, Inc. 8-K filing · View on SEC EDGAR →
What this means
The completion of Exzeo's $12.0 million buyback program modestly reduces share count and dilution from equity compensation, though the magnitude is modest relative to the company's market context. With approximately 90.2 million shares outstanding after the buyback (down roughly 0.9% from year-end 2025), the repurchase totaled less than 1% of the fully diluted share base. At an average price of $13.76 per share, the execution occurred at valuations reflecting the company's second-quarter earnings of $0.26 per share. The buyback was funded from operating cash flows and the company's available cash position, which stood at $136.7 million at period end, allowing the capital return while maintaining investment in strategic initiatives and growth infrastructure.
Frequently asked questions
- What was the average price paid per share in this repurchase program?
- Based on the filing, Exzeo repurchased 834,250 total shares for approximately $12.0 million, implying an average price of roughly $13.76 per share. In Q2 specifically, 726,828 shares were repurchased for approximately $10.0 million, also averaging approximately $13.76 per share.
- Is this a new authorization or the completion of an existing program?
- This filing reports execution and completion of an existing $12.0 million program authorized by the Board of Directors. The company completed the full $12.0 million in repurchases by July 2026, so there is no remaining authorization under this program.
- How does this buyback compare to Exzeo's earnings and cash position?
- The $12.0 million repurchase represented modest capital return relative to the company's operating performance: first-half 2026 net income was $43.7 million and operating cash flow was $40.9 million. At period end, Exzeo held $136.7 million in cash and $197.1 million in available-for-sale securities, providing ample liquidity despite the buyback investment.
- What impact did the buyback have on share count?
- The repurchase of 834,250 shares reduced the outstanding share count by approximately 0.9% from December 31, 2025 levels (90.9 million shares) to 90.2 million shares at June 30, 2026. This modest reduction helps offset dilution from equity compensation but does not materially alter the capital structure.
- Why might Exzeo repurchase shares despite no specified mechanism disclosed?
- Companies typically repurchase shares to return excess capital to shareholders, offset dilution from equity-based compensation programs, and potentially improve earnings per share metrics. The filing does not disclose whether this program operated under Rule 10b-18, a 10b5-1 plan, or another mechanism, so the specific authorization parameters are not detailed.