SYY 8-K Filed 2026-08-04 Execution disclosure

Sysco repurchased $200M in shares during fiscal 2026

Food distributor returned $1.2B total capital to shareholders via dividends and buybacks in the year ended June 27, 2026.

MechanismNot specified

What the filing says

Sysco Corporation executed $200 million in share repurchases during fiscal year 2026 (ended June 27, 2026), according to its earnings release filed as an 8-K on August 4, 2026. The company returned a combined $1.2 billion in capital to shareholders, consisting of $1.0 billion in dividends and $200 million in share repurchases. The repurchase mechanism was not specified in the filing.

This execution resulted in a reduction in diluted share count. The company's diluted shares outstanding decreased from 489,825,648 shares at the end of fiscal 2025 to 480,612,203 shares at the end of fiscal 2026, representing a net reduction of approximately 9.2 million shares over the period.

The repurchase activity occurred as Sysco generated strong operational cash flows, with operating cash flow increasing 5.1% to $2.6 billion and free cash flow increasing 16.3% to $2.1 billion on a year-over-year basis. The company did not announce a new or expanded share repurchase authorization in this filing.

For the year, we generated robust cash flows and returned $1.2 billion to our shareholders through dividends and share repurchase. — SYSCO CORP 8-K filing  ·  View on SEC EDGAR →

What this means

Sysco's $200 million in fiscal 2026 share repurchases represented a modest capital allocation relative to the company's scale—the distributor generated $84.6 billion in annual sales and $2.6 billion in operating cash flow. The buyback was part of a balanced return-to-shareholders strategy that weighted dividends ($1.0 billion) more heavily than repurchases. While the filing does not specify the execution mechanism or average price paid, the net reduction of 9.2 million shares shows the repurchases did reduce share count. This execution activity was considerably smaller than the prior year's $1.25 billion in repurchases, suggesting a shift toward greater dividend prioritization or capital preservation in light of the company's announced acquisition of Jetro Restaurant Depot.

Frequently asked questions

How much did Sysco spend on share repurchases in fiscal 2026?
Sysco repurchased $200 million worth of shares during the fiscal year ended June 27, 2026. This was part of a larger $1.2 billion capital return program that included $1.0 billion in dividend payments.
Why were fiscal 2026 repurchases significantly lower than the prior year?
The filing does not explicitly state the reason for the reduction from $1.25 billion in repurchases in fiscal 2025 to $200 million in fiscal 2026. However, the company is pursuing a major acquisition of Jetro Restaurant Depot, which may have influenced management's decision to prioritize debt management and dividend payments while moderating buyback activity.
Did Sysco announce a new share repurchase authorization in this filing?
No. This earnings release does not announce a new or expanded share repurchase authorization. The filing simply reports the execution of $200 million in repurchases during the completed fiscal year.
How many shares did Sysco repurchase, and at what average price?
The filing does not disclose the specific number of shares repurchased or the average price paid per share. The cash amount ($200 million) is the only execution metric provided in this disclosure.
What is the total share count impact of buybacks in fiscal 2026?
Diluted shares outstanding decreased from 489.8 million at the end of fiscal 2025 to 480.6 million at the end of fiscal 2026, a reduction of approximately 9.2 million shares. This decrease reflects both the $200 million in repurchases and the impact of share-based compensation activity and other share count movements.
execution fiscal-2026 food-distribution capital-return dividend-focused
Source. This editorial summary is based on the SEC filing linked above. BuybackStocks aggregates and editorializes publicly available SEC EDGAR filings. Not investment advice. Past authorization announcements do not guarantee future repurchase activity or share price performance. See our full disclosures policy.