Spruce Power discloses $42M remaining in $50M repurchase authorization
Q2 2026 earnings release reveals program status; no shares repurchased in latest quarter.
What the filing says
Spruce Power Holding Corporation (NYSE: SPRU) disclosed in its second quarter 2026 earnings release that $42.0 million remains available under its authorized $50.0 million common share repurchase program as of June 30, 2026. The Company did not repurchase any shares during the second quarter of 2026.
The disclosure appears in the "Growth and Capital Allocation" section of the earnings release filed via 8-K on August 12, 2026. The Company frames share repurchases as part of a disciplined capital allocation approach that also includes strategic acquisitions, capital expenditures, and debt repayment. Spruce ended Q2 2026 with $81.5 million in cash and cash equivalents and restricted cash, or $4.24 per share, based on 19,249,671 shares outstanding at quarter-end.
No specific execution mechanism (Rule 10b-18, 10b5-1 plan, or other method) is disclosed in the filing. The forward-looking statements section notes that "repurchases under the stock repurchase program will depend upon market prices, trading volume, available cash and other factors, and therefore, there is no guarantee that any repurchases will be completed or as to the number of shares that may be purchased."
During the second quarter of 2026, Spruce repurchased no shares of common stock. There was $42.0 million remaining under the Company's authorized $50.0 million common share repurchase program as of June 30, 2026. — SPRUCE POWER HOLDING CORP 8-K filing · View on SEC EDGAR →
What this means
The disclosure indicates that Spruce Power established a $50 million share repurchase authorization at some point prior to Q2 2026, and has utilized $8 million of that authorization to date, leaving $42 million available. The fact that no shares were repurchased in Q2 2026 suggests the company prioritized other capital allocation uses—notably $7.9 million in debt principal repayment during the quarter. With operating income growth and improved profitability (Q2 net income of $3.3 million vs. a net loss in the prior year), the company maintains optionality for future repurchases, though the filing emphasizes no commitment exists. The authorization amount represents roughly 5.3% of the company's current market capitalization (at $4.24 per share × ~19.2 million shares).
Frequently asked questions
- What was the original size of Spruce's share repurchase authorization?
- Spruce authorized a $50.0 million common share repurchase program. As of June 30, 2026, $42.0 million remained available, indicating the company had utilized $8.0 million of the authorization to date.
- Did Spruce repurchase shares in the second quarter of 2026?
- No. The company explicitly stated it repurchased zero shares during Q2 2026. The filing does not disclose when or how many shares were repurchased to consume the $8 million already used from the authorization.
- How does the buyback program fit into Spruce's broader capital allocation strategy?
- Spruce described its capital allocation approach as disciplined and including strategic acquisitions, capital expenditure projects, debt repayment, and shareholder return initiatives. In Q2 2026, the company prioritized debt reduction, paying down $7.9 million of principal, over share buybacks.
- What mechanism will Spruce use to execute repurchases under this program?
- The filing does not specify whether Spruce will use Rule 10b-18 open-market purchases, a 10b5-1 plan, or another method. The company notes that repurchases will depend on market prices, trading volume, available cash, and other factors.
- Is Spruce obligated to repurchase the remaining $42 million in authorized shares?
- No. Spruce explicitly states that there is no guarantee any repurchases will be completed or as to the number of shares purchased. The authorization provides optionality but imposes no obligation on the company.
- How much cash did Spruce have available at the end of Q2 2026?
- Spruce reported $81.5 million in total cash and cash equivalents and restricted cash ($44.7 million unrestricted and $36.9 million restricted). While the company has adequate liquidity, restricted cash may limit flexibility for buybacks; the filing does not clarify whether restricted cash would be used for repurchases.