SPG-PJ 8-K Filed 2026-08-10 Execution disclosure

Simon Property Group repurchased $211.4M of shares in Q2 2026

REIT acquired 793,077 common shares and 237,618 LP units at $205.10 average price during quarter

Shares repurchased1.0M
Avg price paid$205.10
MechanismNot specified

What the filing says

Simon Property Group Inc. (NYSE: SPG) repurchased a combined 1,030,695 shares and limited partnership units in the second quarter of 2026, investing a total of $211.4 million at an average price of $205.10 per share/unit. The repurchase consisted of 793,077 common shares and 237,618 limited partnership units. The filing does not disclose the specific authorization under which these repurchases occurred, nor does it provide details on the execution mechanism employed.

The Q2 2026 repurchase activity occurred as Simon reported strong financial results, with Real Estate Funds From Operations per diluted share growing 7.9% year-over-year to $3.29. The company also announced increases to full-year 2026 guidance and a 4.7% increase in its quarterly common stock dividend to $2.25 per share, reflecting management confidence in operational and financial performance.

During the quarter ended June 30, 2026, the Company repurchased 793,077 shares of its common stock and 237,618 limited partnership units at an average price of $205.10 per share/unit, for a total investment of $211.4 million. — SIMON PROPERTY GROUP INC. 8-K filing  ·  View on SEC EDGAR →

What this means

The repurchase reduces share count, which supports per-share metrics like earnings and funds from operations—key performance measures for REITs. At $211.4 million spent on repurchases in a single quarter, Simon is actively managing its capital structure. The combined share and unit repurchases totaled roughly 1.03 million securities, reducing the weighted average share count by approximately 0.3% for the six-month period (from 326,401 at midyear 2025 to 324,458 for the six-month 2026 average). While modest in absolute terms relative to Simon's ~380 million shares and units outstanding, the repurchase demonstrates management's commitment to returning capital alongside a growing dividend.

Frequently asked questions

How many shares and units did Simon repurchase in Q2 2026?
Simon repurchased 793,077 common shares and 237,618 limited partnership units for a combined total of 1,030,695 securities. The average price paid was $205.10 per share/unit, and the total investment was $211.4 million.
What authorization does this repurchase fall under?
The filing does not disclose the specific authorization program or dollar amount authorized for these repurchases. Investors should consult the company's prior SEC filings or investor relations for details on the active repurchase authorization.
How do share repurchases affect REIT valuations and per-share metrics?
Repurchases reduce the number of outstanding shares, which mechanically increases earnings per share and funds from operations per share (key REIT metrics) if net income or FFO remains constant. However, repurchases also reduce net cash and can increase leverage, so investors should evaluate them in the context of the company's balance sheet and capital allocation strategy.
Is Simon actively managing capital allocation in 2026?
Yes. In Q2 2026, Simon increased its quarterly common dividend by $0.10 (4.7%) to $2.25 per share and simultaneously conducted $211.4 million in share repurchases, indicating dual capital return through dividends and buybacks while raising full-year guidance.
What is the impact of the Q2 repurchase on Simon's share count?
The Q2 2026 repurchase reduced the weighted average share count modestly. Common shares outstanding declined from 325.2 million at year-end 2025 to 323.6 million at mid-year 2026, a reduction of approximately 0.5%, contributing to higher per-share earnings and FFO metrics.
execution REIT Q2-2026 capital-allocation share-repurchase
Source. This editorial summary is based on the SEC filing linked above. BuybackStocks aggregates and editorializes publicly available SEC EDGAR filings. Not investment advice. Past authorization announcements do not guarantee future repurchase activity or share price performance. See our full disclosures policy.