Shoe Station Group repurchased $7.0M in stock during first half of 2026
Company spent $7.0 million on share buybacks in first 26 weeks of fiscal 2026 amid debt-free balance sheet
What the filing says
Shoe Station Group, Inc. (Nasdaq: SHOE) reported in its September 10, 2026 earnings release that it repurchased common stock totaling $7.0 million during the first 26 weeks of fiscal 2026 ended August 1, 2026. This buyback activity is disclosed in the company's condensed consolidated statements of cash flows, under "Purchase of common stock for treasury."
The repurchase activity occurred as the company maintained a strong cash position of $131.6 million in cash, cash equivalents, and marketable securities at quarter-end (August 1, 2026), an increase of $39.7 million compared to the same period in 2025. The company ended the second quarter of 2026 debt-free, providing financial flexibility for capital allocation.
The buyback was executed while the company faced operational headwinds, including a declining comparable store sales decline of 4.7 percent year-to-date and gross profit margin compression of approximately 410 basis points versus fiscal 2025 guidance. The execution mechanism and specific authorization program details are not disclosed in this filing.
The condensed consolidated statements of cash flows for the twenty-six weeks ended August 1, 2026, disclose: "Purchase of common stock for treasury" of $(7,002) thousand. — SHOE STATION GROUP INC 8-K filing · View on SEC EDGAR →
What this means
Shoe Station Group executed $7.0 million in share repurchases during the first half of fiscal 2026, representing capital returned to shareholders during a period of gross margin compression and comparable store sales declines. The buyback was modest in scale relative to the company's $131.6 million cash position and $676.8 million in shareholder equity at August 1, 2026. With 27.3 million diluted shares outstanding (year-to-date weighted average), the $7.0 million spend represents approximately 0.8% of year-to-date equity. The filing provides no detail on authorization amounts, share count repurchased, or average price paid, limiting ability to assess share-count impact or program scope.
Frequently asked questions
- How much did Shoe Station Group spend on share buybacks in the first half of 2026?
- The company repurchased $7.0 million of common stock during the first 26 weeks ended August 1, 2026, as disclosed in its condensed consolidated statements of cash flows filed with this earnings release.
- Is there any detail on how many shares were repurchased or at what price?
- No. The filing discloses only the dollar amount spent ($7.0 million) under the line item 'Purchase of common stock for treasury.' The filing does not specify the number of shares repurchased, average price paid, or reference any specific authorization program.
- Does the filing mention a new share-repurchase authorization?
- No authorization program is announced or detailed in this earnings release. The filing mentions buyback activity in passing only in the forward-looking risk-factor section, which references 'the impact of any changes to our dividend policy or stock repurchase program' as a general risk.
- What was the company's financial position during this buyback period?
- Shoe Station ended Q2 2026 debt-free with $131.6 million in cash and marketable securities, up $39.7 million from the prior-year quarter. However, the company faced operational challenges including 7.1% comparable store sales decline in Q2 and gross profit margin compression of 690 basis points versus Q2 2025.
- How does the buyback compare to dividends paid in the period?
- During the 26 weeks ended August 1, 2026, the company paid $9.6 million in dividends and repurchased $7.0 million in stock, totaling $16.6 million in shareholder distributions. Dividends represented the larger share of capital return in the period.