SEER 8-K Filed 2026-08-11 Execution disclosure

Seer repurchased 200,000 shares under authorization program

Biotech firm executed buyback in Q2 2026 with $209.5M cash position; authorization amount remains undisclosed

Shares repurchased200K
MechanismNot specified

What the filing says

Seer, Inc. (Nasdaq: SEER), a proteomics platform company, repurchased approximately 200,000 Class A common shares during the second quarter of 2026 under its share repurchase program authorization, as disclosed in its second quarter 2026 earnings announcement filed August 11, 2026. The company reported ending the quarter with approximately $209.5 million in cash, cash equivalents, and investments.

The filing confirms execution of the repurchase activity but does not specify the total authorization amount, average price paid per share, or remaining authorization balance. The buyback execution mechanism is not specified in the disclosure. The repurchase activity occurred during a period when the company reported Q2 2026 revenue of $3.1 million, a 23% decline from the prior year, and posted a net loss of $16.9 million for the quarter.

The company maintains a balance sheet with $209.5 million in total cash and investments as of June 30, 2026, sufficient to support both ongoing operations and continued share repurchases. No further details regarding the authorization program's parameters or future repurchase plans are provided in this filing.

Repurchased approximately 200,000 Class A common shares under our share repurchase program authorization as of June 30, 2026 — Seer, Inc. 8-K filing  ·  View on SEC EDGAR →

What this means

Seer's execution of a 200,000-share repurchase reduces the weighted-average share count from approximately 58.1 million shares (prior year) to 55.2 million shares (current quarter), a reduction of roughly 5% year-over-year. The company's $209.5 million cash position provides substantial capacity for share repurchases, though the filing does not disclose authorization limits, execution price, or remaining authorization headroom. For a company reporting quarterly net losses and declining revenue, buyback activity alongside cash management reflects a capital allocation strategy focused on returning value to remaining shareholders, though no explicit authorization announcement or program amendment is disclosed in this filing.

Frequently asked questions

How many shares did Seer repurchase in Q2 2026?
Seer repurchased approximately 200,000 Class A common shares during the second quarter ended June 30, 2026, under its existing share repurchase program authorization.
What was the average price Seer paid per share?
The filing does not disclose the average price paid per share or the total dollar amount spent on the Q2 2026 repurchases.
What is the total authorization amount for Seer's repurchase program?
The authorization amount and remaining authorization balance are not specified in this earnings announcement. The filing only confirms that the company repurchased shares 'under our share repurchase program authorization.'
How much cash does Seer have to fund ongoing repurchases?
As of June 30, 2026, Seer had approximately $209.5 million in cash, cash equivalents, and investments, providing substantial liquidity for operations and potential future repurchases.
Is Seer announcing a new repurchase program in this filing?
No; this filing reports execution under an existing program but does not announce a new authorization, expansion, amendment, or formal board authorization related to repurchases.
What execution mechanism does Seer use for repurchases?
The filing does not specify whether repurchases are executed under Rule 10b-18 open-market purchases, an accelerated share repurchase agreement, a 10b5-1 plan, or another mechanism.
execution biotech q2-2026 proteomics share-count-reduction
Source. This editorial summary is based on the SEC filing linked above. BuybackStocks aggregates and editorializes publicly available SEC EDGAR filings. Not investment advice. Past authorization announcements do not guarantee future repurchase activity or share price performance. See our full disclosures policy.