RRBI 8-K Filed 2026-09-03 New authorization

Red River Bancshares renews stock buyback program with $10M availability

4Q25 renewal increases flexibility for capital management; $10M available through end of 2026.

Authorization$10M
Remaining$10M
MechanismNot specified

What the filing says

Red River Bancshares Inc. (Nasdaq: RRBI) renewed and increased its stock repurchase program in the fourth quarter of 2025, with $10.0 million of authorization available through December 31, 2026, according to its investor presentation filed as Exhibit 99.1 to the 2Q26 8-K. The bank did not conduct any buybacks in the first half of 2026, maintaining its capital flexibility while supporting organic growth and consistent quarterly dividends.

The bank's capital management priorities remain focused on maintaining strong capital ratios, supporting organic growth, paying quarterly cash dividends (recently increased to $0.25 per share), and making opportunistic stock repurchases. As of June 30, 2026, Red River Bancshares maintained total risk-based capital ratio of 18.76% and a leverage ratio of 12.77%, both well above regulatory minimums. The company has repurchased approximately 11.0% of its December 31, 2019 outstanding share count since 2020, acquiring 800,973 shares at an average price of approximately $51.08 per share.

The $10.0 million repurchase authorization reflects the bank's disciplined approach to capital deployment in an uncertain interest-rate environment, where management is focused on loan repricing opportunities and deposit rate pressures heading into the second half of 2026. The execution mechanism and any specific repurchase strategy are not disclosed in this filing.

4Q25 Renewed and increased stock repurchase program for 2026. No stock repurchased in 1H26. $10.0 million availability through December 31, 2026. — RED RIVER BANCSHARES INC 8-K filing  ·  View on SEC EDGAR →

What this means

Red River Bancshares' renewal of its buyback program provides management with flexibility to return capital to shareholders opportunistically while maintaining a strong capital position for organic growth. The $10.0 million authorization against a market capitalization of approximately $601.1 million (as of June 30, 2026) represents roughly 1.7% of market value. With no repurchases executed in the first half of 2026 and ample liquidity ($195.4 million in liquid assets), the bank appears to be prioritizing dividend growth and deposit stability in a volatile rate environment over aggressive share reduction. Since 2020, the company has reduced share count by 11.0%, a modest but steady contributor to per-share earnings accretion.

Frequently asked questions

What is the $10.0 million authorization and how does it compare to the bank's prior activity?
Red River Bancshares renewed and increased its stock buyback program in 4Q25, making $10.0 million available through December 31, 2026. In 2025, the bank repurchased 211,748 shares for $11.2 million under its repurchase program, plus an additional 200,000 shares for $10.4 million through private transactions. The $10 million authorization provides continued flexibility for 2H26 acquisitions if share prices and market conditions align with management's capital deployment priorities.
Why didn't Red River Bancshares repurchase any shares in the first half of 2026?
The filing does not explicitly state the reason for zero repurchases in 1H26, but context suggests management's focus on maintaining capital flexibility, managing deposit flows amid seasonal outflows ($40.9 million deposit decline in 2Q26), and navigating uncertain interest-rate expectations. With deposits declining and management monitoring net interest income sensitivity, the bank appears to have deferred buyback activity to ensure adequate liquidity and capital for organic loan growth.
How does Red River Bancshares' share buyback strategy fit into its overall capital management?
Buybacks rank fourth in the bank's stated capital priorities after maintaining strong capital levels, supporting organic growth, and paying quarterly dividends. The bank increased its quarterly dividend 67% from $0.15 (4Q25) to $0.25 (1Q26–2Q26), signaling management's confidence in sustained profitability. Opportunistic buybacks at attractive valuations complement organic growth and dividend growth as a means to build shareholder value per share.
What is the cumulative impact of Red River Bancshares' share repurchases since going public?
Since 2020, the company has repurchased 800,973 shares, representing approximately 11.0% of the outstanding share count as of December 31, 2019. At an average repurchase price of approximately $51.08 per share and current book value of $58.40 per share (as of 2Q26), these repurchases have been completed at discounts to current intrinsic value, supporting per-share earnings accretion over the period.
What execution mechanism does the filing disclose for the $10.0 million authorization?
The filing does not specify the execution mechanism for the $10.0 million repurchase authorization. Prior repurchases have been conducted both under the formal repurchase program (Rule 10b-18 open-market purchases are inferred from standard banking practice) and through private transactions negotiated separately, as occurred in May and August 2025.
How well-capitalized is Red River Bancshares to execute this buyback authorization?
The bank maintains strong capital ratios, with total risk-based capital of 18.76% and a leverage ratio of 12.77% as of June 30, 2026, both well above regulatory minimums. With stockholders' equity of $384.6 million and liquid assets of $195.4 million (5.90% of assets), the bank has ample capacity to fund the $10 million repurchase authorization while supporting organic loan growth and maintaining deposit stability.
authorization regional-bank capital-management dividend louisiana-bank
Source. This editorial summary is based on the SEC filing linked above. BuybackStocks aggregates and editorializes publicly available SEC EDGAR filings. Not investment advice. Past authorization announcements do not guarantee future repurchase activity or share price performance. See our full disclosures policy.