Performance Food Group repurchased <$1M in shares in FY2026
Minimal buyback activity under $500M authorization issued May 2025; $498.5M remaining
What the filing says
Performance Food Group Company (NYSE: PFGC) executed minimal share repurchases during fiscal year 2026 ended June 27, 2026. The company repurchased and subsequently retired less than 0.1 million shares for a total of $1.5 million at an average price of $83.12 per share during the full fiscal year. During the fourth quarter alone, the company repurchased less than 0.1 million shares for $0.3 million at an average price of $83.18 per share.
The repurchases were conducted under a $500 million share repurchase program authorized by the Board of Directors in May 2025, which replaced a prior $300 million authorization. The current program expires May 27, 2029 and may be amended, suspended, or discontinued at any time at the company's discretion. As of June 27, 2026, $498.5 million remained available for repurchases under this authorization.
The filing does not specify the execution mechanism (Rule 10b-18 open-market purchases, 10b5-1 plan, or other method) used for these modest buyback activities. The execution represents a negligible share-count reduction relative to the company's 157.0 million diluted weighted-average shares outstanding in fiscal 2026.
In May 2025, the Board of Directors of the Company authorized a share repurchase program for up to $500 million of the Company's outstanding common stock. This authorization replaced the previously authorized $300 million share repurchase program. During the fiscal year ended June 27, 2026, the Company repurchased and subsequently retired less than 0.1 million shares of common stock, for a total of $1.5 million or an average cost of $83.12 per share. — Performance Food Group Co 8-K filing · View on SEC EDGAR →
What this means
Performance Food Group's fiscal 2026 buyback activity was essentially dormant, with only $1.5 million deployed against a $500 million authorization—a 0.3% utilization rate. At $83 per share and less than 0.1 million shares retired, the share-count impact was negligible relative to the company's 157 million diluted shares outstanding. The minimal execution stands in stark contrast to the company's prior buyback history; in fiscal 2025, PFGC repurchased $57.6 million in shares. The shift likely reflects management's capital allocation priorities: fiscal 2026 saw substantial investments in acquisitions (including the Cheney Brothers deal), debt management, and capital expenditures, leaving limited appetite for equity buybacks despite free cash flow generation of $1.03 billion.
Frequently asked questions
- Why did Performance Food Group barely use its $500 million buyback authorization in fiscal 2026?
- The company deployed only $1.5 million of its $500 million authorization, representing 0.3% utilization. Management prioritized other capital allocation uses in fiscal 2026, including acquisitions, debt repayment, and capital expenditures, despite generating $1.41 billion in operating cash flow and $1.03 billion in free cash flow.
- How many shares were repurchased and at what price?
- PFGC repurchased less than 0.1 million shares for $1.5 million at an average price of $83.12 per share during the full fiscal year ended June 27, 2026. This represents a negligible reduction in the company's 157 million diluted weighted-average shares outstanding.
- When does the current buyback authorization expire?
- The $500 million share repurchase program authorized in May 2025 expires on May 27, 2029. The Board may amend, suspend, or discontinue the program at any time at the company's discretion, subject to compliance with applicable laws.
- How much authorization remains for future buybacks?
- As of June 27, 2026, $498.5 million remained available for repurchases under the $500 million program, reflecting the minimal $1.5 million deployed during fiscal 2026.
- How does fiscal 2026 buyback activity compare to prior years?
- PFGC repurchased $1.5 million in fiscal 2026 compared to $57.6 million in fiscal 2025, a decline of 97%. The shift reflects a change in capital priorities toward acquisitions and debt management rather than equity repurchases.
- What execution method was used for these repurchases?
- The filing does not specify whether shares were repurchased under Rule 10b-18 open-market purchases, a 10b5-1 plan, or another mechanism. This information was not disclosed in the earnings release.