JMSB 8-K Filed 2026-08-19 Amendment

John Marshall Bancorp extends stock repurchase program through August 2027

Board authorized one-year extension to existing 700,000-share program; 242,150 shares repurchased to date

MechanismNot specified

What the filing says

John Marshall Bancorp, Inc. (Nasdaq: JMSB) announced on August 19, 2026, that its Board of Directors authorized an extension of the company's stock repurchase program through August 31, 2027. The program authorizes repurchases of up to 700,000 shares of common stock. To date, the company has repurchased 242,150 shares at an aggregate cost of approximately $4.5 million.

The original repurchase program was approved by the Board in 2021 and was set to expire on August 31, 2026. The extension maintains the existing terms and authorization level without modification. The company stated that repurchases may be funded from cash on hand and operational cash flow, and are subject to market conditions, economic factors, and regulatory requirements. The program does not obligate the company to repurchase any shares and may be suspended, terminated, or amended by the Board at any time.

Repurchases under the program may be made at amounts and prices the company deems appropriate using open-market purchases or other methods consistent with Rule 10b-18 and other applicable regulations, though the filing does not specify the execution mechanism.

John Marshall Bancorp, Inc. (Nasdaq: JMSB) today announced that its Board of Directors authorized the extension of the stock repurchase program through August 31, 2027, pursuant to which the Company is authorized to purchase up to 700,000 shares of the Company's outstanding common stock. — John Marshall Bancorp, Inc. 8-K filing  ·  View on SEC EDGAR →

What this means

John Marshall Bancorp extended rather than replaced its stock repurchase authorization, maintaining the 700,000-share cap through August 2027. To date, 242,150 shares have been repurchased at roughly $4.5 million, leaving approximately 457,850 shares remaining under the authorization. The extension indicates the company continues to view buybacks as an appropriate capital allocation strategy. For a smaller regional bank, this ongoing program provides flexibility to return capital while maintaining operational liquidity and compliance with banking regulations.

Frequently asked questions

What changed with this filing?
John Marshall Bancorp's Board extended the company's existing stock repurchase program by one year, from an August 31, 2026 expiration date to August 31, 2027. No other terms were modified; the program remains authorized for up to 700,000 shares.
How many shares remain available for repurchase?
Approximately 457,850 shares remain available under the current authorization. The company has repurchased 242,150 shares to date at a cumulative cost of approximately $4.5 million, implying an average price of roughly $18.61 per share.
Is the company obligated to repurchase shares?
No. John Marshall Bancorp stated that the program does not obligate the company to purchase any shares. Repurchases are discretionary, subject to market conditions, economic factors, regulatory requirements, and Board approval.
How will the company fund these repurchases?
The company expects to fund repurchases using cash on hand and cash generated from operations of John Marshall Bank. The filing does not specify a maximum annual repurchase amount or timeline.
When was the original program authorized?
The stock repurchase program was originally approved by the Board in 2021. This August 2026 filing extends it for an additional year without material changes to the program structure.
Can the Board terminate the program early?
Yes. The Board retains the right to suspend, terminate, amend, or modify the Stock Repurchase Program at any time without prior notice, at its sole discretion.
amendment extension regional-bank community-bank rule-10b-18
Source. This editorial summary is based on the SEC filing linked above. BuybackStocks aggregates and editorializes publicly available SEC EDGAR filings. Not investment advice. Past authorization announcements do not guarantee future repurchase activity or share price performance. See our full disclosures policy.