JCAP 8-K Filed 2026-08-13 Execution disclosure

Jefferson Capital repurchased $58.9M in stock during first half 2026

Company executed share buyback totaling $58.9M in H1 2026; program referenced in forward-looking statements.

MechanismNot specified

What the filing says

Jefferson Capital, Inc. reported in its second quarter 2026 earnings announcement that it repurchased common stock totaling $58.9 million during the first six months of 2026, as reflected in the cash flow statement under "Repurchase of common stock." The repurchase was executed during a period of strong operational performance, with collections growing 18% to $300.9 million and deployments increasing 21% to $152.2 million in the quarter.

The company's forward-looking statements section mentions "[use of our share repurchase program]" as a statement of anticipated financial performance. The filing does not specify an authorized buyback amount, authorization date, repurchase mechanism (Rule 10b-18, accelerated share repurchase, etc.), or average price paid per share. The balance sheet shows 57.4 million weighted average diluted shares outstanding as of Q2 2026, down from approximately 58.3 million at year-end 2025, consistent with the $58.9 million repurchase activity.

Jefferson Capital also declared a quarterly cash dividend of $0.24 per share in Q2 2026 and improved its leverage ratio to 1.71x from 1.76x year-over-year. The company did not announce a new or expanded share repurchase authorization in this filing.

Repurchase of common stock $58,912 [thousands, for the six months ended June 30, 2026] — Jefferson Capital, Inc. / DE 8-K filing  ·  View on SEC EDGAR →

What this means

Jefferson Capital executed $58.9 million in share repurchases during the first half of 2026, reducing share count while the company generated strong operating cash flow of $82.9 million in the same period. The repurchase represents approximately 1.2% of the company's current equity value (based on $476.2 million stockholders' equity) and reflects management's decision to return capital to shareholders alongside quarterly dividends of $0.24 per share. The timing and execution mechanism are not disclosed in this filing. The company's forward-looking risk factors reference "use of our share repurchase program," indicating buyback activity is an ongoing capital allocation tool, though no new authorization or program details are disclosed here.

Frequently asked questions

How much did Jefferson Capital repurchase in the first half of 2026?
Jefferson Capital repurchased $58.9 million of common stock during the six months ended June 30, 2026, as reported in the cash flow statement. The filing does not specify the exact number of shares repurchased or the average price paid.
What was the repurchase mechanism?
The filing does not specify the repurchase mechanism, such as Rule 10b-18 open-market purchases, an accelerated share repurchase agreement, or a 10b5-1 plan. The company simply reports the aggregate dollar amount spent.
Is there an authorized buyback program?
The filing does not disclose an authorized share repurchase program, authorization amount, or remaining authorization. The company's forward-looking statements mention 'use of our share repurchase program,' confirming an active program, but specific authorization details are not included in this earnings release.
How does the buyback relate to Jefferson Capital's capital allocation strategy?
Jefferson Capital combined the $58.9 million stock repurchase with $29.6 million in dividend payments to shareholders in H1 2026, demonstrating a balanced approach to returning capital. This occurred while the company maintained strong leverage at 1.71x and continues to deploy capital into receivable portfolio acquisitions.
What impact did the repurchase have on share count?
The repurchase reduced shares outstanding from 58.3 million at December 31, 2025 to 57.4 million on a weighted average diluted basis by Q2 2026. This reduction would modestly accrete to earnings per share, all else equal.
Was a new buyback program authorized in this filing?
No new or expanded share repurchase program was authorized in this 8-K filing. The filing reports execution of buybacks under an existing program but does not announce new authorization or terms.
execution equity-repurchase capital-allocation dividend cash-flow
Source. This editorial summary is based on the SEC filing linked above. BuybackStocks aggregates and editorializes publicly available SEC EDGAR filings. Not investment advice. Past authorization announcements do not guarantee future repurchase activity or share price performance. See our full disclosures policy.