HCIIP 8-K Filed 2026-08-06 Execution disclosure

HCI Group completes $80M share repurchase program

504,330 shares repurchased through July 17, 2026; program authorized March 3 with 12-month window.

Shares repurchased504K
Avg price paid$158.65
MechanismNot specified

What the filing says

HCI Group, Inc. announced the completion of its $80 million share repurchase program on July 17, 2026. The program was authorized on March 3, 2026, with a timeline extending through February 27, 2027. In total, the company repurchased 504,330 shares for $80.0 million, with 363,538 shares repurchased in the second quarter of 2026 for $57.0 million and an additional 131,091 shares repurchased in the first half through July 17 for $23.5 million.

During the first six months of 2026 ending June 30, HCI Group repurchased 473,609 shares for $74.5 million under the program. The average price paid per share across the entire program completion was approximately $158.65. The company's share count declined from 12,992,147 shares outstanding at December 31, 2025 to 12,469,972 shares at June 30, 2026, reflecting the repurchase activity and dividend distributions during the period.

The execution mechanism and specific trading methodology for the repurchases are not detailed in this filing. The program's completion comes as HCI Group reported strong second quarter 2026 financial results, including pre-tax income of $111 million and diluted earnings per share of $5.60.

On March 3, 2026, HCI Group announced a share repurchase program to repurchase up to $80 million of shares of HCI common stock through February 27, 2027. The share repurchase program was completed on July 17, 2026, with a total of 504,330 shares repurchased for $80.0 million. — HCI Group, Inc. 8-K filing  ·  View on SEC EDGAR →

What this means

HCI Group completed a full execution of its authorized $80 million buyback ahead of the February 2027 deadline, retiring approximately 3.9% of the company's outstanding share count over a 4.5-month period. The buyback occurred during a period of strong profitability—the company generated pre-tax income of $226 million in the first half of 2026—which provided cash flow to fund the repurchase. With completion in mid-July, the timing differs from the originally authorized window, suggesting management may have executed opportunistically or adjusted the program timeline. The reduction in share count will provide some mechanical benefit to diluted earnings per share metrics going forward, though the filing does not disclose the specific trading mechanism (open-market purchases, accelerated share repurchase, or 10b5-1 plan) employed.

Frequently asked questions

Why did HCI Group complete the $80M buyback before the February 27, 2027 authorization deadline?
The filing announces completion on July 17, 2026, but does not explain the reason for early termination. Management may have executed the full authorized amount ahead of schedule or adjusted the program in response to market conditions or capital allocation priorities. The timing reflects execution flexibility within the authorized framework.
What was the average price HCI Group paid per share in the repurchase program?
The filing discloses $80.0 million spent to repurchase 504,330 shares, which calculates to an average price of approximately $158.65 per share. This represents the blended cost across purchases made between March and July 2026.
How does this buyback impact HCI Group's share count and earnings per share?
The repurchase retired 504,330 shares, reducing the company's outstanding share count from 12,992,147 at December 31, 2025 to 12,469,972 at June 30, 2026. This mechanical reduction in share count helps support diluted earnings per share going forward, absent changes in net income.
Did HCI Group use a specific trading method such as Rule 10b-18 or an accelerated share repurchase (ASR)?
The filing does not specify the trading mechanism used to execute the repurchase. Typical mechanisms for public company buybacks include open-market purchases under Rule 10b-18, accelerated share repurchase agreements, or 10b5-1 trading plans, but this disclosure does not identify which method was employed.
What cash flow supported this $80M repurchase?
HCI Group generated pre-tax income of $226 million in the first half of 2026, demonstrating strong underwriting and investment performance from its insurance operations. The filing indicates that 'future cash flow and earnings may limit HCI's ability or willingness to engage in share buybacks,' suggesting buybacks depend on operational profitability and capital availability.
Will HCI Group authorize a new share repurchase program after completing this one?
The filing does not announce any new authorization. The completed $80M program covered the authorization window from March 3, 2026 through February 27, 2027, and any future buybacks would require separate board authorization.
execution completed-program insurance-sector small-cap rule-10b-18-or-other
Source. This editorial summary is based on the SEC filing linked above. BuybackStocks aggregates and editorializes publicly available SEC EDGAR filings. Not investment advice. Past authorization announcements do not guarantee future repurchase activity or share price performance. See our full disclosures policy.