GNW 8-K Filed 2026-08-05 Execution disclosure

Genworth repurchased $62M shares in Q2 2026 at $8.74 average

Second-quarter earnings release reports execution under ongoing program; $918M repurchased since inception through June 30

Avg price paid$8.74
MechanismNot specified

What the filing says

Genworth Financial (NYSE: GNW) reported repurchasing $62 million in shares during the second quarter of 2026 at an average price of $8.74 per share, according to the company's Q2 2026 earnings release filed as Exhibit 99.1 to the August 5, 2026 8-K. Year-to-date through June 30, 2026, the company executed $128 million in repurchases at an average price of $8.67 per share, with total repurchases of $918 million since the program's inception at an average price of $6.47 per share.

The company's share-repurchase activity was supported by capital returns from Enact Holdings, Inc., Genworth's majority-owned mortgage insurance subsidiary. Enact returned $103 million to Genworth during the quarter. The repurchase program is part of the company's broader capital allocation strategy, which also includes quarterly dividends from Enact and debt management. Holding company cash and liquid assets stood at $215 million at quarter-end, after accounting for $62 million in share repurchases and $17 million in debt servicing costs during the quarter.

The execution mechanism for these repurchases is not specified in the filing. The filing does not disclose any new authorization or amendment to an existing program in this quarterly earnings release; rather, it reports the results of ongoing repurchase activity under an existing program. The weighted-average diluted share count decreased to 386.3 million in Q2 2026 from 393.7 million in Q1 2026, reflecting the cumulative impact of repurchases over time.

Repurchased $62M of shares in the quarter; $918M since program inception through June 30, 2026. Executed $62 million in share repurchases in the quarter at an average price of $8.74 per share. — GENWORTH FINANCIAL INC 8-K filing  ·  View on SEC EDGAR →

What this means

Genworth's share-repurchase activity in Q2 2026 reflects the company's use of available capital to return value to shareholders, funded primarily by dividend distributions from Enact Holdings. The quarterly execution of $62 million reduces the diluted share count, though the magnitude relative to Genworth's market capitalization is modest. The program has accumulated $918 million in repurchases since inception at a lower average price of $6.47, suggesting the company has been purchasing opportunistically as share prices have risen. This ongoing execution does not represent a new authorization or program change, but rather continued deployment of capital under an existing authorization.

Frequently asked questions

What is the source of cash funding for Genworth's share repurchases?
Genworth's share repurchases are funded by capital returns received from Enact Holdings, Inc., the company's majority-owned mortgage insurance subsidiary. In Q2 2026, Genworth received $103 million in capital returns from Enact, which helped support the $62 million in share repurchases executed during the quarter. The company also manages its holding company cash and liquid assets, which totaled $215 million at quarter-end.
How many shares has Genworth repurchased since the program began?
Genworth has executed $918 million in share repurchases since the program's inception through June 30, 2026, at an average price of $6.47 per share. This translates to approximately 142 million shares repurchased over the life of the program. The quarterly execution varies; in Q2 2026 the company repurchased $62 million at $8.74 per share.
Why does the filing not specify the buyback mechanism (e.g., Rule 10b-18 open-market purchases)?
This is a quarterly earnings release that focuses on financial results and capital allocation summary, not a formal repurchase authorization announcement or detailed program disclosure. The filing does not provide granular detail on the mechanical execution of repurchases. Investors seeking details on the authorized program size and specific buyback plan mechanics would need to consult the company's annual proxy statement or prior Form 8-K announcements that originally authorized the program.
Is Genworth announcing a new share-repurchase program in this filing?
No. This earnings release reports execution under an existing repurchase program; it does not announce a new authorization or amendment. The filing discloses the results of ongoing repurchases as part of the company's capital allocation summary. To determine the size and remaining authorization of the current program, investors would need to consult earlier SEC filings.
How does the share count impact from repurchases affect earnings per share?
The diluted share count fell from 393.7 million in Q1 2026 to 386.3 million in Q2 2026, a reduction of approximately 7.4 million shares, reflecting cumulative repurchases. Since Q2 net income available to common shareholders was $47 million, or $0.12 per diluted share, the lower share count provides a modest support to EPS. However, the absolute accretion is limited by the magnitude of repurchases relative to total shares outstanding and earnings levels.
What cash or liquidity constraints, if any, does Genworth face in funding ongoing repurchases?
Genworth's holding company liquidity depends on dividend payments and capital returns from Enact Holdings and must also cover debt service. At quarter-end, the company held $215 million in cash and liquid assets (including $81 million reserved for future obligations). The company's ability to fund repurchases is inherently tied to Enact's profitability and capital management decisions. No specific liquidity constraints are disclosed in this filing.
execution q2-2026 genworth financial-services ongoing-program
Source. This editorial summary is based on the SEC filing linked above. BuybackStocks aggregates and editorializes publicly available SEC EDGAR filings. Not investment advice. Past authorization announcements do not guarantee future repurchase activity or share price performance. See our full disclosures policy.