FCFS 8-K Filed 2026-08-06 Execution disclosure

FirstCash repurchased 1.2M shares at $206.66 average in 2026 YTD

$250M deployed through August 5, 2026; represents 2.8% of shares outstanding at year-start.

Shares repurchased1.2M
Avg price paid$206.66
MechanismNot specified

What the filing says

FirstCash Holdings, Inc. (NASDAQ: FCFS) repurchased 1.2 million shares for approximately $250 million through August 5, 2026, at an average price of $206.66 per share, according to an investor presentation filed as Exhibit 99.1 to an 8-K on August 6, 2026. The repurchases represent 2.8% of total shares outstanding at the beginning of 2026.

The company deployed $250 million in share buybacks year-to-date, as part of a disciplined capital allocation strategy that also includes organic asset growth, strategic acquisitions (including the H&T and pending Ramsdens acquisitions in the U.K.), and dividend payments. FirstCash maintained a quarterly dividend of $0.42 per share, annualizing to $1.68 per share as of August 5, 2026.

Since 2021, FirstCash has repurchased 6.983 million shares cumulatively for $772 million, demonstrating sustained capital return to shareholders alongside significant reinvestment in store expansion and acquisition activity. The company noted cumulative stock repurchases and dividends totaling $4.4 billion since 2016, funded by strong adjusted free cash flow of $309 million for the trailing twelve months ended June 30, 2026.

YEAR-TO-DATE - $250 MILLION IN SHARE REPURCHASES THROUGH 08/05/2026 - 1.2 MILLION SHARES REPURCHASED AT AN AVERAGE PRICE OF $206.66 PER SHARE - REPRESENTS 2.8% OF TOTAL SHARES OUTSTANDING AT THE BEGINNING OF THE YEAR — FirstCash Holdings, Inc. 8-K filing  ·  View on SEC EDGAR →

What this means

FirstCash deployed $250 million in share repurchases year-to-date, reducing share count by approximately 1.2 million shares or 2.8% of opening shares. The $206.66 average price reflects execution across rising market conditions through early August. The company maintains a balanced capital allocation framework: since 2016, cumulative shareholder returns via buybacks and dividends total $1.73 billion, while the company simultaneously invested $487 million in acquisitions and opened or acquired 1,363 pawn stores. The execution mechanism is not specified in the filing, though Rule 10b-18 open-market purchases remain the typical vehicle for such activity.

Frequently asked questions

What is FirstCash's current buyback authorization level?
The investor presentation filing does not disclose the current remaining authorization or the terms of any active buyback program. The $250 million year-to-date repurchase is reported as part of execution, but the size or expiration of any underlying board authorization is not stated in this filing.
How does this year's buyback activity compare to prior years?
FirstCash has repurchased 6.983 million shares cumulatively since 2021 for $772 million. Annual repurchase spending has grown from $158 million in 2021 to $250 million through August 2026. The company also paid $1.2 billion total on buybacks and $529 million in dividends since 2016, demonstrating sustained commitment to shareholder returns alongside significant M&A and store expansion.
What is FirstCash's capital allocation strategy?
FirstCash employs a disciplined, multi-track approach: organic growth in pawn loan assets, strategic acquisitions (e.g., H&T for $286 stores in the U.K., pending Ramsdens), de novo store openings, and shareholder returns via buybacks and dividends. The company states its strong balance sheet and adjusted free cash flow of $309 million (TTM) support simultaneous investment in store base expansion and earnings assets alongside capital returns.
What is the execution mechanism for these repurchases?
The filing does not specify whether repurchases occurred under Rule 10b-18 open-market purchases, a 10b5-1 plan, or another mechanism. Reporting is limited to aggregate share count, dollar amount, and average price, which is typical for investor presentations that do not constitute detailed regulatory filings.
How does the $206.66 average price compare to FirstCash's recent trading levels?
The presentation is dated August 2026 and does not provide real-time stock price data or forward guidance on valuation. The $206.66 average reflects execution through August 5, 2026, but no peer comparison or analyst commentary on valuation is included in the filing.
Why is FirstCash buying back shares while funding major acquisitions?
FirstCash states it possesses a robust balance sheet and strong free cash flow generation that support simultaneous investment in growth (acquisitions, store openings) and shareholder returns. The company is not financing acquisitions through debt issuance at levels that require halting buybacks; instead, it uses available liquidity and operating cash to fund both strategic growth and capital returns.
execution mega-cap pawn-operator capital-return dividend
Source. This editorial summary is based on the SEC filing linked above. BuybackStocks aggregates and editorializes publicly available SEC EDGAR filings. Not investment advice. Past authorization announcements do not guarantee future repurchase activity or share price performance. See our full disclosures policy.