FA 8-K Filed 2026-08-06 Execution disclosure

First Advantage repurchased $18.7M in Q2 under $100M program

YTD repurchases of $38.2M represent 1.9% of shares outstanding as of July 31, 2026.

MechanismNot specified

What the filing says

First Advantage Corporation (NASDAQ: FA) repurchased $18.7 million of common stock during the second quarter ended June 30, 2026, under its $100 million share repurchase program. Through July 31, 2026, total repurchases reached $38.2 million, representing approximately 1.9% of total shares outstanding at that date.

The company disclosed the repurchase activity in its Q2 2026 earnings release dated August 6, 2026. Chief Financial Officer Steven Marks noted that the buyback forms part of the company's "balanced and disciplined" capital deployment strategy, which prioritizes deleveraging alongside shareholder returns. First Advantage made debt prepayments of $25 million during the quarter and an additional $45 million prepayment subsequent to quarter-end, demonstrating the company's focus on reducing leverage.

The execution mechanism was not specified in the filing. Based on standard market practice for publicly traded companies, repurchases are typically conducted under Rule 10b-18 open-market purchases, though the filing does not explicitly state this.

We also repurchased $18.7 million of common stock during the quarter under our $100 million share repurchase program, with total repurchases through July 31, 2026 of $38.2 million, or approximately 1.9% of total shares outstanding. — FIRST ADVANTAGE CORP 8-K filing  ·  View on SEC EDGAR →

What this means

First Advantage has executed $38.2 million of a $100 million authorization, leaving approximately $61.8 million available. The buyback has reduced share count by roughly 1.9% through late July, generating modest per-share accretion in a year when the company raised full-year guidance on strong operational performance. The company is balancing capital return with debt reduction—it made $70 million in total debt prepayments in the first seven months of 2026—reflecting a measured approach to shareholder distributions in the context of leverage reduction.

Frequently asked questions

What is the $100 million authorization and when was it approved?
The filing confirms a $100 million share repurchase program is in place but does not provide details on the authorization date or board approval. The program is active and First Advantage reports execution activity against it. Investors should consult prior SEC filings (such as 8-K or proxy statements) for the original authorization details.
How many shares has First Advantage repurchased so far?
Through July 31, 2026, the company repurchased stock worth $38.2 million, representing approximately 1.9% of total shares outstanding at that date. The filing does not disclose the exact number of shares repurchased or the average price paid per share.
How does the buyback fit into First Advantage's capital strategy?
Management emphasized a 'balanced and disciplined' capital deployment approach, prioritizing deleveraging alongside shareholder returns. The company made $70 million in debt prepayments during the first seven months of 2026, demonstrating that debt reduction is a primary capital allocation focus alongside the buyback program.
What is the execution mechanism for the repurchases?
The filing does not specify the execution mechanism. Standard practice for large-cap open-market repurchases typically involves Rule 10b-18 purchases, but the company has not disclosed this in the earnings release.
How much of the $100 million authorization remains?
With $38.2 million repurchased through July 31, 2026, approximately $61.8 million remains available under the $100 million program, based on the disclosure in the filing.
Did the repurchase activity affect earnings per share guidance?
First Advantage raised its full-year 2026 Adjusted Diluted EPS guidance to $1.23–$1.29 from a prior range of $1.15–$1.25. The 1.9% reduction in share count from buybacks contributed to EPS accretion alongside strong operational growth, though the company did not isolate the buyback's EPS impact in the filing.
execution buyback-program fa-stock capital-allocation debt-reduction mega-cap
Source. This editorial summary is based on the SEC filing linked above. BuybackStocks aggregates and editorializes publicly available SEC EDGAR filings. Not investment advice. Past authorization announcements do not guarantee future repurchase activity or share price performance. See our full disclosures policy.