DOLE 8-K Filed 2026-08-10 Execution disclosure

Dole repurchased 1M shares at $14.25 average in first half 2026

Company spent $14.6M through June; $85.4M authorization remains available

Shares repurchased1.0M
Avg price paid$14.25
Remaining$85M
MechanismNot specified

What the filing says

Dole plc executed share repurchases totaling $14.6 million during the first half of 2026, repurchasing 1,025,660 shares at an average price of $14.25 per share. In the second quarter alone, the company bought back 719,290 shares at $13.88 per share for $10.0 million.

As of June 30, 2026, $85.4 million remained authorized for repurchase under the company's share repurchase program. The execution mechanism was not disclosed in this quarterly earnings release. The buyback activity occurred as Dole navigated higher fruit sourcing costs and elevated shipping expenses in the Fresh Fruit segment, while the Diversified Fresh Produce division showed stronger performance.

Dole's weighted-average diluted share count declined to 95.7 million shares for the six-month period ended June 30, 2026, compared to 95.8 million in the prior-year period, reflecting the modest share reduction from repurchase activity.

Dole's buyback activity in the first half of 2026 reduced share count by approximately 1.1%, based on reported diluted weighted-average shares. The $14.6 million outlay represents a measured capital-allocation approach given the company's 2.0x net leverage ratio and ongoing acquisitions in Europe. With $85.4 million still available, the program provides flexibility for future repurchases, though Dole's near-term capital priorities appear to include organic farming investments, distribution facilities, and the integration of recent acquisitions like the Greenfood Fresh Produce division in Scandinavia.
During the quarter, we repurchased 719,290 shares at an average price of $13.88 per share, totaling $10.0 million. For the six months ended June 30, 2026, we repurchased 1,025,660 shares at an average price of $14.25 per share, totaling $14.6 million. As of June 30, 2026, $85.4 million remained available for repurchase under the share repurchase program. — Dole plc 8-K filing  ·  View on SEC EDGAR →

What this means

Frequently asked questions

How many shares did Dole repurchase in the first half of 2026?
Dole repurchased 1,025,660 shares at an average price of $14.25 per share for a total of $14.6 million during the six months ended June 30, 2026. In the second quarter specifically, the company repurchased 719,290 shares at $13.88 per share.
How much authorization remains under Dole's buyback program?
As of June 30, 2026, $85.4 million remained available for repurchase under the share repurchase program. The original size or authorization date of the program was not disclosed in this filing.
What was the execution mechanism for these repurchases?
The filing does not specify the execution mechanism—whether the repurchases were conducted via Rule 10b-18 open-market purchases, a 10b5-1 plan, or another method. Only the completed purchase activity and pricing are disclosed.
How does this buyback fit with Dole's other capital priorities?
Dole is balancing buybacks with acquisitions, organic investments, and debt management. The company recently completed a sale of its Ecuador port for approximately $95 million in net proceeds and acquired the Greenfood Fresh Produce division in Scandinavia. With net leverage at 2.0x, the company is maintaining a disciplined capital-allocation approach.
What was the impact on Dole's share count?
The 1.0 million shares repurchased reduced diluted weighted-average share count by approximately 1.1% in the first half of 2026, from 95.8 million shares in the prior year to 95.7 million. This modest reduction reflects the ongoing but measured pace of buyback activity.
execution repurchase fresh-produce disciplined-capital mid-cap
Source. This editorial summary is based on the SEC filing linked above. BuybackStocks aggregates and editorializes publicly available SEC EDGAR filings. Not investment advice. Past authorization announcements do not guarantee future repurchase activity or share price performance. See our full disclosures policy.