DNOW repurchased $25M in Q2 under $160M program
Energy distributor spent $75M year-to-date under existing authorization, highest pace in a decade
What the filing says
DNOW Inc. announced in its second-quarter 2026 earnings release that it repurchased $25 million of common stock during the quarter ended June 30, 2026, bringing year-to-date repurchases to $75 million under the company's $160 million share repurchase program. This leaves approximately $85 million remaining under the current authorization.
The execution details—including the specific number of shares repurchased and average price paid—were not disclosed in the filing. The company noted that total repurchases reached $75 million in the first half of 2026, representing more shares purchased in these two quarters than in the previous 10 quarters combined, underscoring an acceleration in capital return activity.
CEO David Cherechinsky characterized the repurchase activity as a demonstration of "the strength of our cash generation and our commitment to disciplined capital allocation," emphasizing that the "continued investment in our own shares reflects our confidence in the execution of our strategy and long-term growth prospects."
Repurchased $25 million of common stock in the second quarter of 2026 and $75 million year-to-date under the Company's $160 million share repurchase program — DNOW Inc. 8-K filing · View on SEC EDGAR →
What this means
DNOW's elevated repurchase pace in the first half of 2026—$75 million, the highest rate of buyback activity in the preceding decade—reflects the company's improved financial position and operational cash generation. The company reported $133 million in operating cash flow in Q2 2026 alone, a record second-quarter achievement, alongside improved leverage (1.7x net debt-to-EBITDA) and strong revenue growth. At the current trajectory, the company is on course to exhaust much or all of its remaining $85 million authorization within the next one to two quarters. However, without disclosure of the average share price or count, the precise accretion or dilution impact cannot be quantified from this filing alone.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the total size of DNOW's current repurchase program?
- DNOW's share repurchase program is authorized for $160 million. As of June 30, 2026, the company had repurchased $75 million year-to-date, leaving approximately $85 million remaining under the authorization.
- How aggressively is DNOW repurchasing shares compared to its history?
- The company stated that the $75 million repurchased in the first half of 2026 represents more shares purchased in these two quarters than in the previous 10 quarters combined, indicating a significant acceleration in buyback activity.
- What is driving DNOW's increased buyback activity?
- The company attributed the accelerated repurchases to strong cash generation, with Q2 2026 operating cash flow reaching $133 million, a record for a second quarter. The company also improved its net debt leverage ratio to 1.7x, demonstrating balance-sheet strength.
- How much authorization remains under DNOW's buyback program?
- Approximately $85 million remains under the $160 million authorization after the $75 million spent year-to-date through June 30, 2026. At the current quarterly pace of $25 million, the remaining authorization could be exhausted within the next 3–4 quarters.
- Did the filing disclose the average price paid per share?
- No. The earnings release disclosed the dollar amount repurchased ($25 million in Q2, $75 million year-to-date) but did not specify the number of shares repurchased or the average price paid per share.