DKNG 8-K Filed 2026-08-07 Execution disclosure

DraftKings repurchased $154M in stock in first half of 2026

Company spent $154.2M on buybacks in H1 2026 under existing repurchase program; treasury stock balance grew from $1.39B to $1.59B.

MechanismNot specified

What the filing says

DraftKings Inc. disclosed in its second quarter 2026 earnings release that the company repurchased shares totaling $154.2 million during the first six months of 2026 under its stock repurchase program. The cash flow statement shows "Purchase of treasury stock under Stock Repurchase Program" of $154.2 million for the six months ended June 30, 2026, compared to $242.7 million in the same period of 2025.

As of June 30, 2026, DraftKings held 45.525 million shares in treasury at a cost of $1.59 billion, compared to 38.243 million shares in treasury (costing $1.39 billion) as of December 31, 2025. The filing does not disclose the average price paid per share during the six-month period or specify the execution mechanism (e.g., Rule 10b-18 open-market purchases, 10b5-1 plan, etc.).

The company maintained its fiscal year 2026 revenue guidance range of $6.5 billion to $6.9 billion and Adjusted EBITDA guidance of $700 million to $900 million. DraftKings CFO Alan Ellingson noted that the core business is "on track to generate approximately $1 billion of Adjusted EBITDA this year, providing us with financial flexibility to invest behind the significant opportunity" in its Predictions offering.

Purchase of treasury stock under Stock Repurchase Program: $(154,218) thousand for the six months ended June 30, 2026. — DraftKings Inc. 8-K filing  ·  View on SEC EDGAR →

What this means

DraftKings' H1 2026 repurchase activity of $154.2 million represents a year-over-year decrease of 36% compared to the $242.7 million spent in H1 2025, suggesting a moderation in the buyback pace. The cumulative treasury position grew to $1.59 billion (45.5 million shares), indicating ongoing share count reduction even as the company navigates softer earnings in Q2 2026 (net loss of $67.6 million vs. net income of $157.9 million in Q2 2025). The filing does not disclose authorization details, remaining authorization capacity, or average buyback prices; these details may appear in the company's most recent proxy or capital allocation disclosures.

Frequently asked questions

How much did DraftKings spend on buybacks in the first half of 2026?
DraftKings repurchased $154.2 million in stock during the six months ended June 30, 2026, compared to $242.7 million in the same period in 2025. This represents a 36% year-over-year decrease in buyback spending.
Why did DraftKings reduce its buyback activity in H1 2026?
The filing does not explicitly state reasons for the reduced buyback pace. However, the company reported a net loss of $67.6 million in Q2 2026 (vs. net income of $157.9 million in Q2 2025), driven by customer-friendly sport outcomes and increased promotional spending on new customer acquisition.
What is DraftKings' current treasury stock position?
As of June 30, 2026, DraftKings held 45.525 million shares in treasury at a total cost of $1.59 billion, up from 38.243 million shares (costing $1.39 billion) as of December 31, 2025. This growth reflects the net effect of buybacks and share issuances for RSU withholding and employee plans.
Does the filing disclose the average price paid per share in the buyback program?
No. The filing reports only the aggregate dollar amount spent ($154.2 million) and treasury share count but does not disclose the average price paid per share or the number of shares repurchased in the period.
Is there information about remaining buyback authorization?
The filing does not disclose the original authorization amount, expiration date, or remaining authorization under the stock repurchase program. This information typically appears in the company's most recent proxy statement or capital allocation update.
What execution mechanism did DraftKings use for the buybacks?
The filing does not specify the buyback mechanism—whether open-market purchases under Rule 10b-18, a 10b5-1 plan, accelerated share repurchase (ASR), or another method. The mechanics are not detailed in this earnings release.
execution mega-cap gaming-sector h1-2026 rule-10b-18-not-specified
Source. This editorial summary is based on the SEC filing linked above. BuybackStocks aggregates and editorializes publicly available SEC EDGAR filings. Not investment advice. Past authorization announcements do not guarantee future repurchase activity or share price performance. See our full disclosures policy.