DIN 8-K Filed 2026-08-05 New authorization

Dine Brands authorizes new $100M share repurchase program

Board adds to buyback capacity; company repurchased $7.4M in Q2 2026 and has $143.8M remaining under all programs

Authorization$7M
Remaining$144M
MechanismNot specified

What the filing says

On May 14, 2026, Dine Brands Global, Inc. (NYSE: DIN) announced that its Board of Directors approved a new share repurchase program authorizing up to $100 million in additional buybacks. This authorization supplements the company's existing repurchase program approved in February 2022.

As of June 28, 2026, the company had approximately $143.8 million available for repurchases under all existing programs combined. During the second quarter of 2026, Dine Brands repurchased approximately $7.4 million of its common stock, and for the first six months of 2026 the company repurchased $29.3 million in shares. The company did not disclose the average price per share paid or the specific execution mechanism (e.g., Rule 10b-18 open-market purchases, 10b5-1 plan, or other method).

The parent company of Applebee's, IHOP, and Fuzzy's Taco Shop operates under an asset-lite franchise model. Management cited this flexible capital structure as supporting its ability to invest in brands while maintaining commitments to shareholder returns, including dividends ($2.4 million paid in Q2 2026) alongside repurchases.

100000000
On May 14, 2026, the Company's Board of Directors approved a new share repurchase program of up to $100 million in addition to the existing share repurchase program, approved in February 2022. — Dine Brands Global, Inc. 8-K filing  ·  View on SEC EDGAR →

What this means

The new $100 million authorization expands Dine Brands' total repurchase capacity to $143.8 million as of mid-year 2026. With the company's asset-lite model generating modest free cash flow ($3.7 million for the first six months of 2026), buybacks remain secondary to operational investments and debt management. The $7.4 million repurchased in Q2 represents disciplined execution at a measured pace. For context, Dine Brands had roughly 12.1 million diluted shares outstanding in Q2 2026, suggesting the new authorization could fund meaningful share reduction over time if fully deployed, though no guidance on timing or completion was provided in the filing.

Frequently asked questions

Why did Dine Brands authorize a new $100 million repurchase program in May 2026?
The Board approved the new program as part of the company's capital allocation strategy to return value to shareholders. Management highlighted the asset-lite franchise model's ability to provide financial flexibility for both brand investments and shareholder returns. The new authorization supplements the 2022 program and demonstrates confidence in long-term growth initiatives.
How much buyback authority does Dine Brands have remaining?
As of June 28, 2026, approximately $143.8 million was available for repurchases under all existing share repurchase programs combined. This includes the new $100 million authorization approved on May 14, 2026, plus remaining balance from the February 2022 program.
Did Dine Brands repurchase shares during the second quarter of 2026?
Yes, the company repurchased approximately $7.4 million of common stock in Q2 2026. For the first six months of 2026, total repurchases were $29.3 million. The filing does not disclose the number of shares repurchased or the average price paid per share.
What is Dine Brands' free cash flow position, and how does it support buybacks?
Adjusted free cash flow was only $3.7 million for the first six months of 2026, compared to $48.7 million in the prior-year period. The decline was driven by timing of marketing spend, higher performance-based compensation, interest payments, and increased capital expenditures in company-owned restaurants. This constrained cash generation limits the pace and magnitude of near-term repurchase activity.
How does the repurchase program fit into Dine Brands' overall capital allocation strategy?
Dine Brands balances repurchases with dividend payments and reinvestment in company-owned and dual-brand restaurant initiatives. In Q2 2026, the company paid $2.4 million in dividends while repurchasing $7.4 million in stock. The asset-lite franchise model is designed to generate cash for both shareholder returns and strategic growth investments.
What execution mechanism does Dine Brands use for its repurchases?
The filing does not specify whether repurchases occur under Rule 10b-18 open-market purchases, a 10b5-1 plan, an accelerated share repurchase agreement, or another method. Investors seeking execution details should refer to future quarterly or annual SEC filings or the company's investor relations disclosures.
authorization dine-brands restaurant-sector $100M-program shareholder-returns asset-lite-model
Source. This editorial summary is based on the SEC filing linked above. BuybackStocks aggregates and editorializes publicly available SEC EDGAR filings. Not investment advice. Past authorization announcements do not guarantee future repurchase activity or share price performance. See our full disclosures policy.