Chewy repurchased $400M in stock during first half of fiscal 2026
Pet retailer executed $400M in share buybacks over 26-week period ending August 2, 2026, reducing share count.
What the filing says
Chewy repurchased $400.0 million in common stock during the first 26 weeks of fiscal year 2026, as disclosed in the company's cash flow statement filed with its Q2 2026 earnings report on September 9, 2026. The filing provides no specification of the execution mechanism, number of shares repurchased, or average price paid.
The filing reveals that share repurchases were ongoing throughout the period, with the balance sheet showing Class A common shares declining from 238.6 million shares as of February 1, 2026 to 225.0 million shares as of August 2, 2026—a reduction of approximately 13.6 million shares. This implies an average repurchase price of roughly $29.41 per share based on the $400 million total, though this calculation is not explicitly provided in the filing.
No forward-looking authorization details or remaining authorization amounts are disclosed in this earnings release. The 8-K filing contains only a single reference to "our share repurchase program" in the forward-looking statements section, identifying it as a subject of forward-looking statements but providing no new authorization, expansion, or amendment details.
Repurchases of common stock totaled $400.0 million in the cash flows statement for the 26 weeks ended August 2, 2026. — Chewy, Inc. 8-K filing · View on SEC EDGAR →
What this means
Chewy's $400 million repurchase during the first half of fiscal 2026 represents a significant capital allocation toward shareholders, reducing the company's outstanding share count by approximately 3.6% based on the balance sheet evidence. The timing of these buybacks coincided with improved profitability—net income of $175.3 million for the 26-week period and a 40.9% year-over-year increase in net income. By retiring shares, Chewy mechanically supports its per-share metrics even as absolute net income grows. However, the filing lacks granularity on execution details, pricing, or remaining authorization, leaving investors without critical context on buyback velocity or future commitment.
Frequently asked questions
- How much did Chewy spend on share repurchases in this period?
- Chewy repurchased $400.0 million in common stock during the 26 weeks ended August 2, 2026, as shown in the cash flow statement. This represents a substantial capital return compared to the same period in the prior year, when $152.6 million was repurchased.
- How many shares did Chewy buy back?
- The filing does not explicitly state the number of shares repurchased. However, the balance sheet shows Class A common shares declined from 238.6 million to 225.0 million, a reduction of approximately 13.6 million shares over the period.
- What was the average price paid per share?
- The filing does not disclose the average price paid. Based on the $400 million spend and approximately 13.6 million shares retired, the implied average price is roughly $29.41 per share, but this is not stated in the document.
- Is there a new or expanded buyback authorization announced here?
- No. The filing contains no announcement of a new share repurchase program authorization, expansion, or amendment. It only mentions the company's share repurchase program in boilerplate forward-looking statements, without detail on authorization amount or remaining capacity.
- How did the buyback support Chewy's earnings per share?
- The share count reduction mechanically improved per-share metrics. Basic weighted-average shares fell to 410.1 million from 413.9 million year-over-year, contributing to higher EPS despite the company's absolute net income rising 40.9% in the 26-week period.
- What method did Chewy use to repurchase shares?
- The filing does not specify the repurchase mechanism—whether open-market purchases under Rule 10b-18, an accelerated share repurchase agreement, a 10b5-1 plan, or another method. Only the aggregate cash outflow of $400 million is disclosed.