BRC 8-K Filed 2026-09-03 Execution disclosure

Brady Corp repurchased shares in fiscal 2026; returned $88.3M to shareholders

Company returned $88.3M combined in dividends and buybacks in FY2026; $42.2M in stock purchases during the year.

What the filing says

Brady Corporation returned $88.3 million to shareholders during fiscal year 2026 through a combination of dividends and share buybacks, according to its fourth quarter and full-year earnings release filed as an 8-K on September 3, 2026. The company purchased $42.2 million in treasury stock during fiscal 2026, while paying $46.1 million in dividends, as disclosed in the consolidated statements of cash flows.

CFO Ann Thornton noted that the repurchases were part of Brady's capital allocation strategy alongside organic investment and debt reduction. The company maintained a net cash position of $172.2 million as of July 31, 2026, following the August 3, 2026 closing of its transformational acquisition of Honeywell Technologies' Productivity Solutions and Services Business. Thornton stated that "Our strong balance sheet allows us to continue to invest in organic growth, reduce our net leverage, and continue to return funds to our shareholders through dividends and share buybacks to drive long-term shareholder value."

The treasury stock purchases reduced the weighted average diluted share count from 47,780 thousand shares in fiscal 2025 to 47,750 thousand in fiscal 2026, a reduction of approximately 30 thousand shares. Brady disclosed these repurchases were executed during fiscal 2026 but did not specify the execution mechanism, average price paid, or authorization details in this earnings release.

Not specified
Brady's Chief Financial Officer, Ann Thornton, said, "We continued our strong momentum and achieved another annual adjusted earnings per share record, increased our cash flow from operating activities nearly 35% to $244.1 million in fiscal 2026 compared to $181.2 million in fiscal 2025, and returned $88.3 million to our shareholders in the form of dividends and share buybacks." — BRADY CORP 8-K filing  ·  View on SEC EDGAR →

What this means

Brady executed share repurchases totaling $42.2 million during fiscal 2026 as part of a broader $88.3 million shareholder return program that also included $46.1 million in dividends. The purchases modestly reduced share count—by roughly 30,000 diluted shares year-over-year—contributing to diluted EPS growth alongside operational improvements. The company balanced these capital returns with significant acquisition activity (the $17.4 million net cash outlay for the IPS acquisition) and maintained a positive net cash position, signaling management's view that share repurchases remain appropriate given cash generation and balance-sheet strength.

Frequently asked questions

How much did Brady spend on share buybacks in fiscal 2026?
Brady purchased $42.2 million of treasury stock during fiscal 2026, as reported in the consolidated statements of cash flows. This was part of a combined $88.3 million shareholder return program that also included $46.1 million in dividends.
What was the execution mechanism and average price for these repurchases?
The filing does not specify the execution mechanism (e.g., open-market purchases, accelerated share repurchase, or 10b5-1 plan) or the average price paid per share. Additional detail may be disclosed in Brady's proxy statement or annual 10-K filing.
Why did Brady continue buying back shares amid the large Honeywell acquisition?
According to CFO Ann Thornton, Brady's net cash position of $172.2 million and strong operating cash flow ($244.1 million in fiscal 2026) provided capacity to fund the acquisition while still returning capital to shareholders. Management stated that the strong balance sheet allows the company to 'continue to invest in organic growth, reduce our net leverage, and continue to return funds to our shareholders.'
Did the buybacks have a meaningful impact on earnings per share?
The repurchases reduced diluted weighted average shares outstanding from 47,780 thousand in fiscal 2025 to 47,750 thousand in fiscal 2026—a reduction of approximately 30,000 shares. While modest, this contributed to EPS accretion alongside the company's 15% adjusted diluted EPS growth (from $4.60 to $5.29).
Is there an ongoing authorization for Brady share buybacks?
The filing does not disclose the dollar amount or shares remaining under any board authorization. Management's forward-looking language about continuing to 'return funds to our shareholders through dividends and share buybacks' suggests an active program, but specific authorization details are not provided in this 8-K earnings release.
execution fiscal-2026 shareholder-return cash-flow mid-cap industrial-tech
Source. This editorial summary is based on the SEC filing linked above. BuybackStocks aggregates and editorializes publicly available SEC EDGAR filings. Not investment advice. Past authorization announcements do not guarantee future repurchase activity or share price performance. See our full disclosures policy.